Processing your request

Thank you for your patience.

PSO announces AEP grants to 64 innovative Oklahoma classroom projects

May 5, 2022

Public Service Company of Oklahoma (PSO) today announced 64 American Electric Power (AEP) grants to underwrite innovative classroom approaches in local classrooms.


Ranging from $100 to $500, AEP Teacher Vision Grants are designed to make creative projects possible for Pre-K through grade 12 teachers.


Projects funded for 2022 include esports equipment for Atoka High School students, Bluetooth speakers to aid Oneta Middle School choir rehearsals in Broken Arrow and a greenhouse for Alex Elementary students.


Oklahoma educators who live or teach in the PSO service area or in communities with major AEP facilities are eligible to apply for the grants. With an eye toward improving student academic achievement, AEP has a special interest in science, mathematics, technology, electrical safety and the balanced study of energy and the environment.


Each year, the AEP Teacher Vision Grant program awards up to $70,000 across the company’s 11-state service area. Teachers in PSO’s service area will receive more grants in 2022 than teachers in any other AEP service area.


“Every year we are impressed by the talent and dedication obvious in the grant applications,” said PSO Vice President of External Affairs Tiffini Jackson. “PSO is happy to partner with Oklahoma teachers to make visionary education a possibility.”


Grants recipients for 2022 include:

Alex Public Schools: Nicole Bauman

Alva Public Schools: Dixie Meyer, Mary Tyree

Antlers Public Schools: Andrea Atwood, Krystal Day, Holly Hill, Kim Jones, Wayne Leyba, Kathy Mitchell, Alexa “Lexi” Rember, Amanda Toney, Tonya Tucker, Cody Vaughan

Atoka Public Schools: William Bray, Meredith Edwards, Tamara Edwards, Patricia Hansen, Darla Jackson, Christie Miller, Christie Jo Robertson, Geraldine Southern, David Swift, Roni Wieldt, Christopher Wingo

Boswell Public Schools: Susannah Bodine

Broken Arrow Public Schools: Elizabeth Beller, Angie Buckner, Brittany Fischer, Chandra Kelsey, Kaysley Kinkead, Detra Kliewer, Brooke Perez, Stephanie Watkins, Sarah Wallace,

Broken Bow Public Schools: Kimberly Tomlinson, Angie Buckner,

Carnegie Public Schools: Kaila Kinder

Coweta Public Schools: Rachel Boni

Fort Towson Public Schools: Phillip Hall, Shelia Thompson,

Grove Public Schools: Randi Andrews, Deborah Eads, Samantha Brown, Katie Jackson, Linda Adams, Erin Deaton, Chelsey Lewandowski, Shelby Rhatigan, Amanda Cox, Travis Rhatigan, Lezlie Marshall, 

Hobart Public Schools: Vanessa Baker

Hugo Public Schools: Brandi Cook, Geneva Edwards, Sandra Allen, Cheyenne Carlile,

Locust Grove Public Schools: Alicia Matlock

Oologah-Talala Public Schools: Abby Piha, Joell Griswold,

Soper Public Schools: Tammy Gravitt,

Thomas-Fay-Custer Public Schools: Stacey Wright

Tri County Technology Center: Kerensa Kester/Brandi Peace

Wapanucka Public Schools: Kim Foster, Rose Wooley,


For more information on the AEP Teacher Vision Grant program and other AEP education initiatives, see www.aep.com/go/education.


Media Contact:                                                          

Wayne Greene

PSO Corporate Communications                                          

(918) 521-1474



PSO Announces AEP Teacher Vision Grants to 45 Innovative Public School Projects

Learn More


PSO Highlights 2023 Efforts to Address Hunger, Housing

Learn More


PSO Helps Central High School Seniors Celebrate Graduation

Learn More

Welcome back!

Please login to manage your account.